A Commercial Break – Let’s Go for Middle Eastern at Cafe Le Claire

Whoo I’ve been terrible with my blogging. Let’s jump right at it with one of my favorite places in Singapore – Cafe Le Claire at Arab Street. Yes…it’s not a burger post but hey, let’s have a bit of a break.

image
I’m a fan of hummus – and I blame that all on one of my close friends for first introducing it to me back in Kuala Lumpur and then stoking it further by introducing Cafe Le Claire to me. We’ve got the ordering down to a pat: the baba ghanoush, a feta cheese dip, and falafel.

image
Falafels are deep fried chickpea and/or fava balls which are served with tahini sauce. Tahini is a sesame seed-based sauce usually used as a base for hummus, amongst other things.

The falafel at Cafe Le Claire is cooked freshly every time – piping hot, moist and almost cake-like when you bite into it. A much healthier version of a tater tot, no less fun. Highly recommended at SGD9.00 with 6 balls.

image
Next up is a feta cheese dip – I can’t remember the actual name but the menu is descriptive enough. This is an absolute favorite. The feta is crumbled and blended with tomato puree, and it’s not overly smooth or creamy. I prefer a textural contrast in my dips because eating too many smooth-textured dips make me feel like I’me eating baby food. Taste-wise, it’s salty like cheddar blocks, with the sweet/sour twang of tomato paste.

This dip is served with either pita or Arabic bread, at SGD7.00.

image
Last but not least – baba ghanoush. It’s an eggplant dip, made with blended eggplant, olive oil, dried chilli flakes, and served with a lemon wedge. The baba ghanoush is nicely mushy and blended, and the my tongue eventually caught up with the dried chilli flakes. The lemon gave it a very refreshing side to the otherwise inherent blandness of eggplant. Don’t get me wrong, I love eggplant, but only when it’s seasoned well. In this case, the olive oil gave it a beautiful silkiness, the lemon cut through the mushiness, and the chilli flakes amped up the heat factor. Served also with either pita or Arabic bread at SGD7.00.

So there you have it, my Cafe Le Claire moment. Reasonably priced and with drinks, my friend and I paid SGD16 each for our meal. Definitely a go, if you need to feel healthier after a burger binge 😉

Leave a Reply

